top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: DUALITY - I.M


Monsta X is a powerhouse of talent with their incredible vocalists, their insane, synchronized choreographies, and their incredible rap line. They're so incredible, Monsta X fans consider them the best K-Pop rappers. Member, Joohoney, has made this pretty clear with his solo mixtapes (the last one being PSYCHE which dropped in early October) but I.M had yet made his mark with solo releases. He had released a few solo singles here and there but DUALITY is his big debut and it's everything I have expected from I.M.


Joohoney brings the aggressive fire to Monsta X's rap line and while I.M brings a more chill and sexy flow to Monsta X's rap sections. Duality definitely expands on his talent with this album being both chill and sexy. His honey smooth and deep voice carries you through this record and definitely knows how to make you swoon and fall in love with him. Songs like the title track, God Damn, Howlin', and Burn especially showcases his voice and rap skills the best because they expand on the I.M that many Monsta X fans know and love. These songs definitely are the I.M I expected.


But just because this album is what I expected from him doesn't mean I wasn't surprised. Title track, God Damn, was a big shock on first listen because it's so sexy. His flows are smooth and he curses so beautifully (lol). The music video was also very surprising to many because of the implications. Happy to Die was also a big surprise for me because he definitely gets a little more aggressive on this track. I know he's capable of it, but it's definitely different to hear it on this album. It is a chill track but he definitely brings a little fire here and it's definitely appreciated. The outro, flower-ed, was the biggest surprise though. This is a soft track where he sings over this chill hip-hop beat. It's beautiful and hearing his honey voice is so soothing for the soul (even if he is singing about a sad topic). It's a short track but it's definitely really sweet.


DUALITY is I.M showing the world who he really is. It's him telling the world he hasn't really come to play. It features his skills as a rapper and songwriter and even story-teller. It's beautiful in every way from the more chill and tender moments to the harder more aggressive moments. He showcases the range of human emotions. It's everything I expected from him and he certainly proves his mark as one of K-Pop's best rappers.


Watch the music for God Damn below and check out DUALITY on your preferred streaming service!


Comments


bottom of page