top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

My 7 K-Pop Essentials (1 year later)

It's the one year anniversary of this blog! It's so crazy to believe I'm still writing for it now. With over 100 posts under my belt at this point, I can't believe to see how far this little passion project and hobby of mine has gone. I just want to thank anyone who has read anything on this blog and given me an outlet to yell about the music I'm most excited about. Now, a year ago, I posted my first post which was my 7 K-Pop Essentials. While, I do have to agree this list is solid, I didn't have a lot of K-Pop knowledge under my belt. I had been a fan for about three months so I hadn't dug as deep as I have now. So I'm giving a re-vamp to my list and giving you 7 more essentials that I think you should hear.


1. Replay - SHINee

This song is over a decade old and still lives in the hearts of every K-Pop fan ever. This was Shinee's debut track that was released all the way back in 2008 and I think the reason why it lives on is because of how catchy and nostalgic it is. Everything about this track is perfect for a 2000s pop nostalgia jam session from the instrumental to the harmonies and vocals. You play this song in front of any K-Pop fan and suddenly they're fluent in Korean. It's just a good and fun track that's a great intro to the K-Pop world.


2. Bang Bang Bang - Bigbang

The kings. The rulers. The reason K-Pop is the way it is. These guys are supreme. G-Dragon and T.O.P made it on the first list because they're literally the kings of K-Pop and I need to keep Bigbang on this list because they are K-Pop. Bang Bang Bang is one of the hardest tracks I've ever heard in the genre. This song is perfect for any party, jam session, even a good song to release anger. This song has a fantastic beat, great vocals, hard af raps. It's a total package and it's a total bop. You'll get it stick in your head instantly.


3. Fancy - Twice

Girl group royalty, Twice, with one of the biggest songs ever. I can definitely see Fancy being on par with Replay in years time because it's so ingrained into K-Pop's fans minds. This is a really cute song about having a crush on someone against a fun, dance-y beat. This song is another ear-worm to be had and you'll find yourself doing some of the choreography almost instantly. It's a fun and cute track that I feel like everyone should know.


4. Blood Sweat & Tears - BTS

BTS are everywhere and chances are you've heard a song or at least pieces of a song by them. They're the reason I got into K-Pop in the first place. They're intriguing and their music is really good. These guys are the face of K-Pop and so you gotta know at least one song. Any track is good place to start in their extensive discography but Blood Sweat & Tears is where I started. Many fans agree this is probably their best title track. It's got this Latin beat, incredible harmonies, beautiful raps. It's a total package.


5. Sweet Chaos - Day6

K-Pop is such a broad term that can encompass many things, like bands who play instruments. Day6 is really the biggest of the K-bands and are a good introduction into that world. Their indie flair is captivating and perfect for people who were or are indie music fans like me. Sweet Chaos is a rock track through in through with incredible vocals and a beat to drum along to in the car during a groove session.


6. Hala Hala (Hearts Awakened, Live Alive) - ATEEZ

This song is the reason this blog exists. Everything about this track still gets to me even a year after discovering it. It's got these insane vocals, crazy raps, and the most insane choreography I have ever witnessed. It was hard to believe these guys were still rookies when this track came out. It's a dark track, but it's danceable and it's captivating. It's a track I will be yelling about until the day I die. I totally recommend you check it out.


7. God's Menu - Stray Kids


I have screamed about this track so much on this blog that it's only fitting that it makes it onto this list. God's Menu is crazy, fun, catchy, and the choreography is one of my favorites. This song is just perfect in every way with the crazy instrumentals and crazy raps and buildups. It's impossible not to get hyped when this song comes on. If you haven't heard it yet, you need to hear it now. Stray Kids (along with Ateez) are really the face of the new generation of K-Pop and God's Menu proves that the future is in good hands.

Comments


bottom of page