top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

My 7 K-Pop Essentials

These songs really changed my mind about how I thought about k-pop. Now, they are songs I can't live without. Let's jump in!


1. The 7th Sense - NCT U


This song was the first one I heard that blew my mind. My best friends showed me this and told me that it was a much different debut song. Everything about this song from the beat to the choreography is so different than what I expected from a k-pop band. Not the mention Mark Lee's iconic line "that's a long-ass ride." Check out the cool performance video above to see what is arguably my favorite choreography in k-pop.


2. Focus On Me -Jus2



To keep going on the Smooth theme, this song is spectacular. I think I watched this video every day for a month after I heard it the first time. This song is more synth-pop which definitely intrigued me because that's something I really enjoy. The sultry voice of JB and the higher pitch from Yugyeom work so well together. They were made to sing a song like this and I am addicted.


3. Hip - MAMAMOO


I will be the first to admit that I am more inclined to boy groups. For the reason, I don't know. But MAMAMOO are so edgy and fresh that I can't not pay attention to them. This song is a big eff you to the media and people who talk down to them. Sure, it's something a lot of pop artists make songs about but this song is a BOP! The chorus is especially catchy and even though I don't know what's being said, I still can't help but sing along


4. Obsession - EXO


This song is so dark. I love it SO MUCH! The bass-heavy instrumental along with these dark vocals make for the best experience. Not to mention Sehun coming in with the best lines, "blacken my heart, creeping dark night."This song is such a good introduction to who EXO are. The music video is also pretty sick with the members of the band battling their alter egos. Check it out above!



5. Zutter - GD & T.O.P (BIGBANG)


These guys are the kings of k-pop and basically made the genre what it is today, and if you hear any song on this list, please let it be this one. I literally don't know what to say about it except that it's my most listened to song of all time. It dethroned Thom Yorke of a two-year reign in 3 months (if you know me personally then you know that's a big deal). These guys work so well together and this song really shows it. T.O.P's rap part in this is my favorite verse in music ever. I bow down to the Kings.


6. Intro: Persona - BTS (RM solo)

This song is brought to you by my favorite member of BTS and one of my favorite rappers in K-pop, RM (real name: Kim Namjoon). This was shown to me by my friend not too long after I listened to BTS and declared RM my bias (my favorite member). His raps are so good I can't even explain it. This song is just a bop and I love it so much.


7. Follow - Monsta X


The last song on this list comes from my favorite k-pop band. They have such a unique brand of music that I've never heard anywhere else really. Dark EDM meets alternative meets pop meets rap. This was the first Monsta X song I heard and it's definitely the more poppy song from their discography but god is it so good!!!!!! The rappers, especially Joohoney (Jooheon (the first rapper to do his thing in this song)), deliver their verses so well. It's so catchy and so well delivered. I could go on forever but you should just listen to this track to see what I mean.

Comments


bottom of page