top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Top 5 Debuts of 2020

This year was full of many debuts. A lot of the new groups really showcased skills that their seniors could only dream of having. Their versatility and concepts were all amazing and really intriguing. In the list below, I'm talking about the top 5 groups that really stuck out to me this year.


5. DKB

DKB made their debut early in 2020 (February 3rd to be exact) with their debut song Sorry Mama. Their hip-hop and noise influence intrigued me as those tracks are the ones I love the most. But it wasn't until their title track, Work Hard, came out later in the year where they officially went under my radar. This track is a chill hip-hop track that became an addiction. It's sad because I don't see a lot of people talking about them but in 2020 they really have showcased their versatility. I can't wait to see where they go in 2021.



4. MCND

Everyone seemed to be addicted to Ice Age when MCND made their debut in February as well. I know I loved it. It was a super catchy song that also showcased a hip-hop influence. 2020 was also year where they showcased versatility with their cute concept, Spring, and dance-y track, nanana. With a comeback already planned for early January, I'm sure 2021 will be a year where they really come into their own.


3. aespa

Aespa are the newest debut in this list with only having debuted last month. And they're different than everyone else on this list because they only have one song. But when I tell you, this song is incredible. Black Mamba was their debut and they showcased some fierce vocals, choreography, and a cool AI concept. These girls really are a standout from the crowd and Black Mamba has been on repeat. I can't wait to see what else these girls have up their sleeve.



2. LUCY

Lucy made their debut in May with the song Flowering and they went completely under my radar (and everyone else's it seems). That was until their comeback, Snooze when I had first heard of them. Lucy is a K-band that has some indie pop flare and features a violinist which certainly made them stand out to me. Snooze in particular features a cool violin solo which is certainly unique. Their EP, Panaroma, and singles Snooze and Flowering are all just perfection. I can't wait for them to expand on their already perfect discography in 2021.



1. TREASURE

Treasure are my stand out debut of 2020 and for good reason. YG groups always have this flare and swag that it's impossible to not be intrigued by them. In August they debuted with Boy and I was immediately hooked with their rap line and hard drop. I stanned immediately. But with their latest comeback, MMM, I learned that they're ready to take on the world. They've showcased a mature sound with a sprinkling of cute sounds with their b-sides. These guys are going to be huge with some rookie of the year awards under their belt. Here's to their 2021. I can't wait to see them grow.


Kommentarer


bottom of page