top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

30 Days of K-Pop: Day 27

Day 27: A song you used to dislike but grew on you: Growl - EXO

The story I have with EXO goes way back. They've honestly followed me around since their debut in 2012. I had some friends who were crazy about them but because they sang in a language I didn't understand, I didn't really want to give them the time of day. Plus, I remember listening to some tracks like Wolf and Mama and being scarred. I didn't want to bother with this genre. K-pop was always a shadow that seemed to follow me around and Exo (and a little later there was Bigbang and BTS) were really the perpetrators. I remember when I decided to give EXO a little listen after digging into K-pop, I was little scared. I remember being scarred by them when I was 13 and I certainly didn't want to make myself hate K-pop.


But after digging into this song after years it was really refreshing. This song is full of soulful vocals and raps that really send chills down my spine. The harmonies are absolute perfection. To be honest, I still have yet to hear harmonies as great as this. The beat is kinda sexy too so it really adds another level to their great voices. Then there's the choreography that I've seen covered left and right. It's a total package.


This song is interesting for me in many ways. But I think for me it's a silly little reminder how much my music taste certainly has evolved over the years. This is a song that followed me around for years and it took 7 years for me to really enjoy it. Talk about a song growing on you. Ironically, I totally recommend this track for new K-pop listeners because it really is a staple for EXO and K-pop in general. Plus, it's a bop and I hope it doesn't take you years to enjoy.

Comments


bottom of page