top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: 1 Billion Views - EXO-SC



EXO-SC is one of the subunits of the legendary boygroup EXO. This particular subunit is comprised of the rap line, Sehun and Chanyeol (SC). These two are among my favorite rappers in the entire industry because of how well they work together and build off one another. Their last project (and debut), what a life, I had talked about on my blog before. It's something I have been very fond of for a while. So needless to say I was excited about this first full length project.


One thing that took me by surprise was how low key this record was. This album features smooth instrumentals and favors more vocaly pop than heavy raps. Their last project was pretty similar but it definitely had some hard hitters on there. This record is more chill. I certainly don't mind it though! It's what makes it endearing. These tracks are perfect for studying, writing, or even just chilling inside on a rainy day. It's moody but it's fun and I love it from beginning to end.


The other thing I was surprised and excited about was the fact that they had solo songs on here. In EXO, they never really had time to shine solo on their records so I was excited to see what they would bring to the table as far as solo songs. Chanyeol's solo, Nothin', really fits the mood of the record. It's lowkey moody song with this great hip-hop instrumental. Not to mention his vocals that absolutely kill me. Then there's Sehun's track, On Me, that is really the only hard track on this record. And what a perfect way to end this record. His raps are fun and powerful and, if I'm being a little honest, sexy. It was certainly a reminder why this guy used to be my ult bias.


This record, while soft and laid back, is still a fun record. It's a little adventure for every song. I really felt like I went into Sehun and Chanyeol's world and I feel a little sad every time the record ends. It's so fulfilling. These guys are talented in every aspect and you would be dumb enough not to listen to this record.


Favorite Track(s): Nothin' (Chanyeol solo), On Me (Sehun solo)


The solo tracks are my obvious favorites. These tracks close out the record and I think it's a great way to close the record. It really gives them a chance to say their own thing as a last hurrah. Both songs really fit them and their personalities. On Me especially stands out to me as I had that song on repeat for like a week. It's addicting.


Other Recs: 1 Billion Views, Telephone, Say It (And maybe just the entire thing I swear this record is so wonderful)


1 Billion Views serves as the title track and opener for the record and it really does set the tone. It starts off this really satisfying organ sound that really feels like you're about to go on the best elevator ride of your life. It really catapults you into this fun world they created. Meanwhile, Telephone and Say It feature these fun hooks that get stuck in my head and I just adore them both so much. But in all honesty, this record from beginning to end is just a treat and you need to listen.


Check out the video for 1 Billion Views below and check out 1 Billion Views on your preferred streaming service!


Comentarios


bottom of page