top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: [12:00] - LOONA



Loona is a powerhouse girlgroup full of 12 members that each have something to bring to the table. One thing that attracts me to them, are there incredible vocals but also insane raps that they bring. Their songs are also full of fun dance floor hits. This album is no different than what I expect but there's even more.


Title track Why Not, is a fun dance floor hit that has this quite strange drop. But the bass on this song is absolutely insane. You can't not want to bust a move while singing along to the "dum dum dums" that take over the hook. This song is everything that I love about Loona. Incredible vocals, good raps, and crazy beats. Hide & Seek is in the same vein as Why Not. It's fun and catchy. OOPS! the closer, is full of insane raps that really showcase their rap line's talents and it makes me insanely happy to hear a girl group own their rap line.


Like any record, this one also spans across the spectrum though. For every fun dancey track, there is a low key 80s influenced track. Voice is my favorite of those. Even though this song is more low key, it still has a fun beat. I hear this track, and I automatically want to go on a road trip to wherever. It's got that groove perfect for highway driving. It's so cute and fun.


As I grow to stan Loona, this record really does it for me. This record is full of dancable tracks that make you want to go crazy. But it's also full of fun 80s influenced tracks that are perfect for lowkey chilling grooves. They really showcase their talents on this record with insane harmonies and raps that really get you going. Loona are truly a force to be reckoned with.


Favorite Song: Why Not?

This song is one of the most unique girl group songs I've heard. It's packed full of synths and heavy bass that I've never really heard before. Plus, it's insanely catchy and fun. It's a bop, a jam, a tune. I can't say much more about it.


Other Recs: Voice, OOPS!

These songs are on opposite ends of the spectrum. Voice is an 80s inspired road tune that is smooth and groovy. Their harmonies are absolutely incredible and angelic. OOPS! on the other hand is a rap heavy track that get's a little aggressive at times. One thing I've loved about Loona is how hard they go and this song goes hard. Both songs are absolutely incredible and fun.


Check out the video for Why Not? below and check out [12:00] on your preferred streaming service!



Comments


bottom of page