top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: All About Luv - Monsta X


Valentine's Day was anything but lonely for me because my favorite K-pop band, Monsta X, dropped an album with the most fitting title, All About Luv. This is a groundbreaking record for the k-pop world because it's one of the first (if not the first) albums to be sung in all English. And it's proven to be successful with it debuting in the Top 5 on the Billboard 200.


This isn't their first foray into all English songs. Last year they released the song Play It Cool with Steve Aoki which is one of my favorite songs of theirs. They also released a few singles for this record that really showcased their amazing English skills. The singles really gave a good insight into what this record would sound like. While I did enjoy them, I definitely felt something would lack.


This album is really supposed to cater to the American pop market and so it goes away from their typical style of music. It's nice to see the softer side of the group, but the aggressive style of music that they have is pretty much the reason I enjoy them. There's a lot of things I missed on this record such as Jooheon's aggressive rapping and the sick EDM that they usually have.


While there are definitely some downsides to this record, there are still some things that I find enjoyable. Jooheon takes on singing which proves how versatile he is. It's also nice to hear the other vocalists taking center stage. Kihyun, who is the main vocalist, steps back a bit and lets the others take center stage. And their voices have never sounded better. Lastly, I.M, the other rapper in the group, really showcases his softer style of rapping. If anything, I would say that this record is his record. It's nice to hear from him.


All About Luv is not my favorite Monsta X record to be released but I can't ignore what a big deal this album is for k-pop. There's also a lot that I do enjoy about it. I recommend this album to anyone who is intimidated by Korean lyrics or if the top 40 music is your thing.


Recommended Listenings


Favorite Song: Middle of the Night


This song was one of the singles for this record and it was my favorite single. The main reason I find this song so enjoyable is the chorus. Shownu, my favorite member, really sticks out in his lines. His voice is so soulful so it's perfect for a love song like this. The instrumental is a nice 70s groove that I really enjoy in pop music. The lyrics are cute and I can't help but smile when I listen to it.


Other Recs: Misbehave, You Can't Hold My Heart


I'm blushing as I write about this. This song is so sexy. It's a soft piano ballad about uh... misbehaving. It's one of the stick out tracks from the record and definitely one the most memorable cuts. All of them are really showcasing their vocals really well. There's really nothing more I can say. I love it.



This has to be my second favorite off the record. Another vocal showcase that really surprised me. Jooheon's voice in particular really compliments this track and I wish he sang more on it. The chorus is also really catchy and I find myself singing it subconsciously sometimes. It's a chill track that you can groove along to. I can't wait to play it with the windows down in the spring air!

Comments


bottom of page