top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: Awaken The World - WayV


After NCT 127 had two comebacks in the span of a couple months (both of which rocked my socks off), and NCT Dream absolutely going mad with Ridin', it was only a matter of time before the Chinese sub-unit of NCT, WayV, made their return. It's been a good year to be an NCtzen (fan of NCT) because of all this good music being released from each of the sub-units. So I certainly came into this record with high hopes. And I wasn't disappointed.


The thing I love about NCT is that every sub-unit always offers something different to the table. NCT 127 captivate me with their wild and chaotic songs, NCT U offers a lot of variety depending on who is featured on the songs, Dream gives me a sense of youthfulness and fun, and WayV has that undeniable sexy swagger. And this record really showcases that.


Awaken the World's strong points certainly come from the vocals. The title and opening track, Turn Back Time, is full of these incredible melodies and harmonies that are so well performed. After Midnight is another song that pops out to me. The melody that is sung in the chorus with this 80s inspired instrumental in the background is sheer perfection. There's also the low-key track, Domino, that is so incredibly performed. The vocal line certainly knows how to deliver no matter what.


There's also no shortage of hip-hop inspired songs as well. Turn Back Time has that addicting hook ("stop. rewind. turn. back time.") delivered by main rapper Lucas that has been stuck in my head for days now. The second track Bad Alive is also full of these sexy raps and insane noise pop beat. Even the summery closer track, Stand By Me and softer track, Only Human, they seem to fit in really well with their rap section. They don't feel forced or out of place.


This record is all of the reasons I love WayV tightly packed into 10 songs. It's an album full of bops but also low-key tracks perfect for anyone! They're vocal line delivers these incredible harmonies and the rap line has these sexy raps that can make anyone weak. This year has been a great one for the NCT universe and WayV only made it better.


Favorite Track: After Midnight


After Midnight is a song that feels very reminiscent of the music I was exposed to as a child. I grew up around a lot of 70s/80s tracks and this track is very much inspired those eras. It's a song full of synths and 80s electronic drums. The vocals are heavenly in every way. It's a song that is nostalgic for me but it's also a song that is very refreshing to hear. I'm usually not a fan of the softer tracks but this song is sheer perfection.


Other Favorites: Turn Back Time, Bad Alive, Domino


The first two tracks of this record, Turn Back Time and Bad Alive, offer incredible hip-hop beats with a little mixture of noise pop that can get anyone grooving. Turn Back Time has the catchy hook and incredible vocals that amaze me every time I listen to it. Bad Alive is more dependent on their rap line so of course I will love it. Domino is a little more low-key but it's the best of both worlds. It's got the beautiful chorus from the vocal line and incredible raps from the rap line. These songs are a great intro into who WayV are. They are certainly my faovirte tracks by them.


Check out the MV for Turn Back Time below!



Comments


bottom of page