top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: D-2 - Agust D


Oh boy it's finally here! After a week of cryptic teaser images posted online, Agust D, aka Suga from BTS, aka Min Yoongi, made his return to the solo world with his recent mixtape, D-2. This is second solo release after his self-titled mixtape that dropped in 2016. That has been one of my favorite albums to listen to since I made that discovery and he has certainly proved to be one of my favorite K-pop rappers. So this return has been long awaited for me and many other fans.


In 2016, Yoongi found himself on the rise into the global market with his band that have now conquered the world. That same time, he dropped Agust D which was him being as raw as he could be. He was rapping about his mental health over hip-hop beats that could get anybody to go wild. Yoongi was honest and raw, something I never expected from a K-pop star. It took me by surprise and quickly shot it's way up onto my favorite albums. Now it's been four years and he's grown as an artist and celebrity so his music has certainly matured as well.


D-2 not only shows Yoongi looking inwards like his last mixtape but also outward at society. Title track, Daechwita, talks about his rise to stardom while using traditional Korean music of the same name, that is played during ceremonial marches of kings. He finds himself critiquing those who talk down to him and his band. This is a theme that plays out on the record, especially on the next track, What do you think?. There's also a critique of society and differences on the track Strange.


Yoongi also finds himself reminiscing. Songs like the closer, Dear my friend, has him looking back at an old friendship that grew apart. It's heartbreaking and sad, but it's something we all can relate to. 28 finds himself looking back at his life and the fears of growing older. The opener is track that is him giving a pep talk to himself.


This mixtape is full of eccentricities. He uses many different forms of music and raps really well. We also find him singing on the interlude of this record. Yoongi shows that he has grown as an artist and put his name on the map. It's full of features, including his band mate RM, that really show his desire to be collaborated with. Each song is him exposing a different side of himself and with every track I found myself deeply enamored by him. This mixtape proves why he's (proabably) my favorite K-pop rapper.


Favorite Track: Daechitwa


Yoongi is a king and he's letting you know. I live for K-pop songs that use traditional Korean music elements and this song is full of them. The production is impeccable and the raps are hard. This is a song that would make crowds go crazy and I hope we find him performing it when concerts are allowed again.


Other Favorites: Strange (ft. RM), Interlude: Set me free, Dear my friend (ft. Kim Jong Wan)


Of course Strange is one of my favorite tracks. My favorite member of BTS, RM, collabing with my second favorite member is destined to be on my radar. These two prove themselves to be a match made in heaven. It really shows up in this song. That's really all I can say. I love this track.


Interlude: Set me free may just be an interlude but it's beautiful. It's features vocals by him which I absolutely love. It's short but it's sweet.


Dear my friend is something I can really relate to. It's a song that hits me straight in my feels because of it. Those songs that appeal to emotions are always the best songs. Yoongi's story about a friend is something I really empathize with. The vocals from Kim Jong Wan are incredible and break my heart in the best way possible. It's a wonderful closer to the record.

Comentarii


bottom of page