top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: DAWNDIDIDAWN - DAWN


Former member of Pentagon and Triple H, Dawn is now stepping out and making a name for himself. I've always been intrigued by his swagger and so I was excited to see what he would bring to the table with this debut EP. He certainly delivers and it's a pleasant surprise for anyone who dives in.


This album is full of bops. You go through this album bopping your head and dancing around. The title track, DAWNDIDIDAWN with Jessi, and Tantara are the stand out songs for me. DAWNDIDIDAWN opens the album and it's a good introduction to him. It's got this catchy whistle tune that gets stuck in your head instantly. It's a big song but he delivers. Tantara is more lowkey in it's groove but the beat the chorus delivers is insane. The hook "I like it like that" gets you grooving.


This album also feels very reminiscent of a G-Dragon EP. It's not necessarily a bad thing and I think he pulls of the swagger really well. Still (featuring Crush who is one of my favorite K-RnB singers and rappers), is a lowkey guitar tune that I swore was a G-Dragon song at first. His vocals are very pleasant to the ear and Crush's part also delivers. Ordinary Night, the closer, also feels reminiscent of a Bigbang song. It's got a fun summery tune that you can sing along to at the top of your lungs. It's a good closer and wraps up the EP nicely.


Overall, Dawn certainly delivers on this debut. He brings his swag in ways I didn't expect and so it was a nice surprise. He brings his swagger which can never disappoint. I can't wait to see where he goes from here.


Favorite Track: DAWNDIDIDAWN (ft. Jessi)


A fun bop for the ages. As stated before, this song feels like a great introduction to him. It's beat is infectious and the chorus is so fun. I found myself stopping to bop many times while writing this review. It's addicting and catchy. I can't say how much I love this track.


Other Recommendations: Still (ft. Crush), Tantara


These are lowkey but they're still so good. Still is an RnB track that really gets you in a mood. The vocals/raps from Dawn are just really pleasant over a soft guitar. Crush also comes in these smooth vocals that make me swoon. Tantara comes immediately after Still and lifts you up a bit. It's got a trumpet in the beginning that sets the tone for the Latin-esque guitar. It feels like a lowkey track but then the beat drops and you're suddenly grooving along. It's great!


Check out the video for DAWNDIDIDAWN (ft Jessi) below and check out DAWNDIDIDAWN on your preferred streaming service!



Comments


bottom of page