top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: Delight - Baekhyun


Baekhyun is most well known for being one of the main vocalists in EXO and sub-unit EXO-CBX but he's also served as a vocalist and leader in the super group powerhouse, SuperM. Along with all of that, he has quite an extensive solo discography with soundtracks and another mini album all under his voice. Everywhere he goes he serves with incredible vocals that make me absolutely weak. And this mini album, Delight, is no different.


Baekhyun gets sweet on Delight. His vocals are soulful and the beats are fun and hip-hop esque making it a fun low-key summer release. The album opens with the title track Candy which is a perfect opener for the record. It certainly sets the tone for the fun loving theme that goes throughout the record. The chorus is so catchy and cute (almost all of the choruses on this record are catchy and cute).


This record also has fun summer lovin' tunes that can cater to anyone. Songs like R U Ridin'? and Poppin' are the ones that stick out. These songs will be perfect for those summer drives (with or without your love). I find myself going back to R U Ridin'? specifically. It's just a fun tune.


Baekhyun also gets a little lowkey with songs like Underwater, Ghost, and the ballad closer Love Again. The former songs are especially showing a deeper, sadder side of love. Ghost sticks out the most with a dark piano hook and guitar riff that continues through the song. This song certainly is my favorite for many reasons on which I will elaborate in my Favorite Tracks section. The closer, Love Again, is a cute love song that ends the record perfectly. It's like the credits of a fun little rom-com.


All in all, I love this record. Baekhyun's soulful voice carries all the songs so beautifully. With songs that are so incredibly sweet, it's impossible not the love them (he's lucky I have a sweet tooth). I haven't been that familiar with any of the EXO members' solo works and I just have to say that this was a good intro into that world. Baekhyun is sweet and soulful and I absolutely love it.


Favorite Track: Ghost


I could go on and on about why this song is perfection. The guitar riff that plays throughout is simple but it's incredibly effective. The beat is deep and perfect for a club track. Baekhyun's vocals show really good range as well. His high notes are beautiful and his lower range is smooth. This song is supposed to be a break up song but I find it to be sexy more than anything. I love it so much.


Other Favorite: Candy, R U Ridin'?


The openers for this record are so enjoyable. Candy is a sweet tune that features some fun hip-hop beats. Baekhyun's voice also shines incredibly well. I really can't explain how good it is. R U Ridin'? follows in Candy's footsteps in that regard. It's a bit more intense with that bass but it's absolute perfection. These two songs are a one-two punch and I love it!


Check out the music video for Candy below!



Comments


bottom of page