top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review/Discovery: MAGENTA - Kang Daniel



Recently I had written about Kang Daniel and his absolute bop, Touchin', and it had become an addicting track (along with the Cyan EP). I really had myself listening to that song daily. But even fresh off the heels of discovering that sweet track, I found myself mystified when I stumbled off the title track for Kang Daniel's title track for his recent EP, Magenta, called Who U Are. My brain was sent into overdrive and I had to hear this new EP immediately. What I didn't expect was to be was mystified as I was.


Magenta is dirty. From beginning track, Flash, to ending track, Night, Kang Daniel's voice is complimented by these dirty 808 basses that blew my mind. Then there's the beats that are full of heavy electronic drums. These will make you want to bust a move. This album is made for parties and dirty dancing especially with lead single, Waves and songs like Flash and Who U Are. And these songs I think are perfect for Kang Daniel's voice and aesthetic. They fit his voice very well.


This album is also full of features that I was scared would take away from Kang Daniel's nice voice. But these features only compliment him and his style. Waves especially featuring Jamie and Simon Dominic really feels like it's by a K-pop group which isn't a bad thing. These guys work so well together and really compliment the Latin beat that this song brings. There's also the song Movie featuring singer Dvwn that sticks out to me. Dvwn's sweet voice is a perfect addition to this poppier sounding song. His voice is also a great compliment to Kang Daniel's thick, honey voice.


So while I accidentally came upon this EP, I was pleasantly surprised. Magenta is an album chock full of dirty bass and features that really fit the aesthetic of Kang Daniel. And in the end, I'm addicted, full stop. This is a sound that I would love to hear more from him and in K-pop in general. This EP will be on my favorites for sure. I also recommend it for your good headphones or speakers for top enjoyment!


Favorite Track: Waves (Ft. Jamie, Simon Dominic)


This song gets you from the get go. That beat hits you from the get go and pulls you in. I found myself in awe the entire first time I heard it. It's a song that is made to be danced to. You can't do anything else.


The features on this song are also another thing to applaud. Jamie brings nice harmonies with Kang Daniel and Simon Dominic brings raps that fit well with this beat and Kang Daniel's r&b voice. This song should be applauded more as a collaboration more than a feature. Jamie and Simon Dominic wrote for this song along with Kang. And man does it really pay off in the end. I will be addicted to this track until I die.



Other Recs: Flash, Who U Are


Flash and Who U Are also feature some nice heavy bass and ear pleasing beats. Flash, the opener for the record, really takes you by surprise when the beat kicks in. It's a great way to introduce the sounds this record will carry. Who U Are, the title track, fits in the same vein as Waves in that it's made to be danced to. It's incredible and I can't imagine not loving it.


Check out the video for Who U Are below and check out Magenta on your preferred streaming service (seriously. If you have taste you would listen to this)!







Commentaires


bottom of page