top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: Hideout: Remember Who We Are Season1 - Cravity



Cravity's debut has been one I have been hyped for, for a while! They are Starship Entertainment's new boy band and with them having my favorite band, Monsta X, under their belt I was naturally excited to see what they would do with Cravity. The teasers for the album that came around a couple of days before the EP really couldn't prepare me for what they would deliver for an album.


Top of the Chain starts out the album with this powerful hit. It's an old-school sounding, soulful song. The vocals are impeccable and the chorus really has me singing along. It definitely shows them picturing where they want to go. It's a stadium hit. Then we go into the title track for the album, Break all the Rules. Again, those vocals take center stage (although the raps do no go unnoticed). There are incredible harmonies with this catchy chorus. Then we have EDM bangers Jumper and Blackout. Jumper was the song I was most looking forward to because Monsta X's own Jooheon produced and wrote the track. And it certainly has his vibe that I absolutely adore. It's so dope and the more rap heavy track on this album. It goes hard and I love it. Then the album closes with more lowkey songs, Stay, Cloud 9, and Star. Stay and Star particularly offer this stadium ballad sound. And while these songs are my particular favorite, they definitely show their versatility.


Cravity, even though they just debuted, show that they are prepared to take on the world. They're dreaming big and going hard. It's definitely a debut EP so it's not perfect, but there is signs of promise for these guys. I can see them going far and I can't wait to go along for the ride.


Recommended Listenings


Favorite Track: Jumper


As mentioned above this track is written and produced by Monsta X's Jooheon so it was bound to be my favorite from the beginning. It's got a catchy rap hook that leads itself to a cool EDM drop. And the vocal line delivers the catchiest vocal hook I've heard in a while ("I feel so hiiiigh"). It's a song that definitely sounds like it belongs to Jooheon, they still make it their own and I appreciate that. It's going to be a crowd favorite I'm sure (once crowds are allowed to gather again).


Other Favorites: Top of the Chain, Break all the Rules


As stated above, Top of the Chain is soulful but man it also goes so hard. It's a perfect opening to who Cravity are I think; they're ready for world domination and they need you to get out of the way. It features these really amazing instrumentals that could have anybody stomping their feet. This is a sound that I hope they explore in the future because god it's so good. It's definitely a close second in terms of favorite tracks.


The title track for this record is just a catchy and fun track. While it's definitely about teenage rebellion, it's still good for the adults out there. It's a track that anyone could find themselves dancing to (especially with the really good dance break near the end). It's just a really great song and probably one of my favorite title tracks for this year thus far.

Comments


bottom of page