top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: Into the Ice Age - MCND



This album (EP) is the debut project of the band MCND. After hearing Top Gang last week, I was very excited to see what these guys would do. The song really surprised me and so I'm hoping this EP adds to that excitement for this group. This album review will be a little different because I'm going to give a rundown of each track and my opinions of it as I listen to it for the first time.


Track 1: Into the Ice Age

The instrumental intro to the world of MCND. It's a short 1+ minute of a sick beat. I can get down to it. Nothing much to say about it since it's so short. It's a good intro.


Track 2: Ice Age



The lead single for this album. The hook is actually kind of addicting. It immediately starts the song so by the time the first chorus came around, I found myself singing along. The raps in the first verse are really good. From a rookie group, I'm very surprised. The vocals are very good. It's definitely more poppy than the last single but, it's still an addicting track. That chorus will be stuck in my head for weeks probably.


Track 3: Stereotypes

This is a vocal-heavy track. It feels very cheesy and bubblegum poppy. The instrumental, full of piano and cheesy drums, feels like I walked into a very pastel K-pop video. It's not my cup of tea. The raps in the second verse were kind of nice though. This is my least favorite song so far and probably the most forgettable track on this record.


Track 4: Hey You

The instrumental started for this track and I immediately said to myself that this would probably be cheesy too. It's not as bad as the last track though. I can actually kind of get down with it. It's a pop song but I don't hate it. The raps are more laid back but it works for this track. The more it goes along the less I hate it. It's not my favorite track on this EP, but I do like it.


Track 5: Top Gang



The track that started it all. I wrote all I needed to in my Song Discovery post. This song bops. It's probably my favorite off this record.


Final Thoughts


It's a debut, so I'm not going to expect too much from them. I definitely had higher expectations from hearing Top Gang but, they didn't necessarily let me down. Being objective, a first project is not going to be the best (except in rare cases). They're getting their footing as a group and I can applaud them for making something this good. I will definitely add this to my library. It won't be a frequent rotation EP, but I will definitely have some tracks on repeat.


Fave tracks: Top Gang, Ice Age


Rating: 3/5


Recommended to those who: Love top 40 music and pop-rap music


Comments


bottom of page