top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: Lit - Lay


I've discussed a few times about Mandopop (Mandarin pop or C-pop (Chinese pop) depending on who you ask) on my blog because I feel like there's an overlap between K-Pop and Mandopop. Especially since the Mandopop I listen to comes from idols who are or were apart of K-pop companies and groups. Lay is no different. He took part as the vocalist for EXO until 2016 when he took time away to pursue a solo career. And while he's still technically apart of the group, he hasn't participated in the groups activities for years. It's no biggie though because this album certainly proves he kicks it as a solo artist.


This album is hip hop heavy with 4 of the 6 tracks really featuring some down tempo rapping and heavy hip hop beats. The title track, Lit, and Eagle certainly pop out at me. They're intense with some heavy bass and dope raps. While he certainly doesn't show speed he shows a good flow that works well with these tracks which is certainly more important than anything else.


Lay also showcases his heavenly vocals on the tracks H2O and the closer Soul. They're nice palate cleansers for this record. H2O has to be favorite of these two tracks because his vocals are just really angelic. He sings his heart out with these beautiful strings in the background. It's just super heavenly.


The thing I like most about this EP above anything else though, is the use of traditional Chinese instrumentals. All tracks really push these East Asian sounds to the forefront and that's why I find this EP so charming. I've always appreciated the sounds that came from traditional East Asian music and so I've always love it when pop artists use or reinvent those sounds. And Lay did a superb job at using those sounds. It makes the EP so enjoyable.


Lay really showcases his versatility on this EP with tracks that showcase all of his talents. He proves himself to be a king of Mandopop with angelic vocals and bad ass raps. And with the songs crawling with traditional Chinese instrumentals, it's perfection in every single way. This EP just begs to be listened to to be honest. I can't say nice enough things about it.


Favorite Track: Lit

The teaser for the MV of this track is what really put this EP on my radar. So when I first heard this track I instantly fell in love. Lit serves as the opener and title track for this record and I can't think of a more fitting song to use to showcase what this record sounds like. I just recommend that you listen to it because it's just incredible.


Other Favorites: Jade, Eagle


Jade and Eagle really stick out to me with their dope hip hop beats that make me head bop. These tracks immediately follow Lit so they really open the EP on a strong note. Both songs also rely heavily on those traditional Chinese instrumentals so it's natural that these songs jump out as my favorites. I find myself listening to the first three songs a lot because they are just so addicting.

Comentarios


bottom of page