top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: Map of The Soul: 7 - BTS


This BTS album was the first time I witnessed a k-pop band comeback (note: in k-pop a comeback refers to the time when an artist drops a new album). I think it was only fitting since they were the first k-pop band that I really liked. I was very excited to see what they would do since the last few albums have been amazing. The album had already shown a lot of promise with the lead single, Black Swan, and the two comeback trailers of Interlude: Shadow and Outro: Ego.


I waited very anxiously to hear this record and even woke up early on Friday to listen to it before I went to work. It was so worth it. This album is probably the best in their discography. Wait, no, it is the best album in their discography. They all use their skills so well to compliment all the different styles of music that they're performing. It's an album that's a love letter to their career but they aren't being cocky about it. They sing about friendships, the hardships of fame, moving forward, and even psychology.


With the members taking part in the writing and production, it feels so personal. I was being let into their world. It's an experience. I can see why these guys are the biggest band in the world. This is an album I totally recommend if you're intrigued by BTS. I feel like this album is a good introduction to them.


Recommended Listenings


Favorite song: UGH! (Rap Line)


This song is delivered by the rap line (RM, Suga, J-Hope). I was so excited to see that they would be doing a song together because they didn't on the last album. Their cyphers are among my favorite BTS tracks and so I was hoping they would do it in that style. That was something they hadn't done since their 2016 album, Wings. So, you can imagine my excitement when they actually did. It's aggressive and in your face. I had this song on repeat most of Friday after I finished the album. This is the song I keep coming back to.


Favorite Song(s) to Dance Around To: Outro: Ego (J-Hope Solo), ON


J-Hope has such a unique brand of music (so much different that BTS fans call the genre, Hobi (his nickname)) and this song really shows it off. It's fun and light. I watched the video and once he started dancing I couldn't help but do the same. It's a hopeful song about moving forward. If you want to get a rush of serotonin, I totally recommend it.



"Can't hold me down cos you know I'm a fighter" Jimin sings in the hook of ON. Filled with marching band-style drums and hip-hop beats, you can't help but march or dance along. All of the members are delivering on this song. I would say it's my second favorite on this record. Check out the dope choreography above!


Other Recs: Interlude: Shadow (Suga solo), Dionysus, Moon (Jin solo), We Are Bulletproof: The Eternal



As I mentioned above, this song is what really hyped me up for this record. Suga takes on his shadow self and just rocks this track. The beat switches like 3 times in this song and he takes a different tone each time. It doesn't feel broken, and in fact, it flows so well. It's dark and powerful. There's nothing more to say except that this song blows me away.


Dionysus was first heard on Map of The Soul: Persona (along with the first 6 songs on 7), but this song fits perfectly in the tracklist for 7. It's a great pop song with some rock elements and rap elements. It's catchy and fun to bop along to.



Jin is probably my favorite vocalist in BTS but I definitely go back and forth on that. This song, though, showcases his strong abilities. It's a beautiful song with a peppy instrumental. This song is definitely one of my stick out tracks. If rap isn't your thing you might enjoy this track!



The continuation of their song We Are Bulletproof: Pt 2. That song is my least fave BTS track so I was a bit nervous to see this song on the tracklist. But it completely redeemed itself with the angelic vocals in that chorus. This song is truly a love song for their career and I love it so much.




Comments


bottom of page