top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: Maria - Hwasa


In terms of girl groups, Mamamoo, always seems to hit different for me. They are the queens of edge and sass. And this year has proved to be no different. Member Solar, made waves in the K-Pop world by going bald for her latest single, Spit It Out, earlier this year (that bopped and I totally recommend) and so now it's time for Hwasa to take the spotlight and my god does she absolutely slay on this record.


Hwasa's voice is very smooth and soulful and so lowkey tracks are definitely where she excels. This EP has no shortage of them. The opener, Intro: Nobody Else, really sets that tone for us. It's a song that, while explosive, certainly showcases the softer side of her voice. It starts the record off strong. The closer LMM is a ballad for the ages. Her voice is tender and sweet and this song seems to be the fan favorite (and I'm not different). These songs serve as the bookends to this low-key record.


Not to say that there aren't some head-bop tunes here. Title track, Maria, has this beat that I find infectious. It's not aggressive but it's dance able enough that I really enjoy it. Plus her voice on this track, god I am in love! I couldn't think of a better track to be the title to this record nor could I think of a better track for her. Then there's the track WHY that sits in the middle of the record that is intense and sexy. The synths and beat are dark and I love it so much. There's also the track i'm bad too that features a fun sing along chorus with a great rap from DPR LIVE.


While low-key K-pop has never been my favorite, I am in love with this record. Hwasa takes her place as a K-pop vocal queen and I can't name a person more fitting. She's fierce but she has her softer side and this record showcases that soft side perfectly. I can see this album being one of my faves from this year.


Favorite Track(s): Intro: Nobody Else, LMM


As stated above, these songs are perfect bookends to this record. Nobody Else opens on a soft note that explodes into this synthy masterpiece. I really wish it was longer because it's so beautiful. LMM on the other hand, is this soft ballad. While I'm not a fan of ballads, this track literally can't not be liked. Hwasa's voice is emotional while these strings play in the background and I can feel the tears as I listen to it. It gives me goosebumps every single time.


Other Favorites: Maria, Why


These tracks are really who Hwasa is. There's this fierce woman behind these lowkey tunes and these tracks bring it out of her. I can't really explain it more. Maria is really great title track and Why is a dark tune that has me screaming the chorus most of the time.


You check out the music video for Maria below and check out this EP on your preferred streaming service!



Comments


bottom of page