top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: NCT #127 Neo Zone - The 2nd Album - NCT 127


A few days ago a wrote a "review"(which was really just me fangirling) of the title track from Neo Zone, Kick It, and so it's no surprise how hyped I was to hear this record. After releasing 4 mini albums and 1 full-length record, NCT 127 are no rookies in the K-pop world. But I feel like a lot of their music has been them still trying to discover who they are as a group. This record, though, I feel like is them stepping into their roles and the music certainly proves it. Full of many R&B surprises, nice rap hooks, angelic vocals, this album has it all. "Let me show you some new thangs," they say in Kick It, and they really do. This album is unexpected but it's perfect.


From the start of the record to the end you're on a journey. Elevator (127F) starts the record perfectly. It's a smooth pop song that brings you into the world of NCT 127. This fades into the absolute BOP that is Kick It. These two songs together set the tone for the record. Boom, which is not as explosive as you expect from the title, offers a low-key EDM drop with a fun pop guitar instrumental. Pandora's Box and Day Dream offer some heavenly vocals that will surely be perfect for springtime. The interlude in this record perfectly splits the two sides of the record. It begins as a soft tune but then explodes which prepares you for the insane rap tunes, MAD DOG and Sit Down!. Love Me Now is a fun electric love song that then goes into Love Song which is another perfect R&B tune. White Night shows NCT 127 stripped back with a piano and an R&B drum beat. Not Alone offers a soft hip-hop beat with chill vocals. Lastly, Dreams Come True closes out the record with an angelic tune that also blends some nice raps. A perfect conclusion.


This record is absolutely fantastic. It's surely my favorite NCT 127 album. It's really their record and I feel like they will take over the world with this. They all are coming into their own and sharing their talents. And with all the twists and turns on the journey to the end, it's surprising and it's totally enjoyable from start to finish. Sure there are tracks that I don't enjoy as much as the others, but it's a great record. I can see this being one of my top albums of the year. That's how much I enjoyed this record.


Recommended Listenings


Favorite Song(s): MAD DOG & Sit Down!


No surprises here that my favorite tracks are the tracks that are rap-heavy. I knew these two songs would probably be my favorites from the snippets they posted on their socials. I was definitely expecting high things from these tracks and I was not disappointed for sure. These two tracks sit perfectly next to each other in the tracklist and make me feel absolutely badass. They go hard and the raps are insane. It's nice to see Taeyong and Mark take the forefront of these songs.

MAD DOG is a rap tune delivered by Taeyong and Mark Lee. This track was produced by Hitchhiker (who has collaborated with Taeyong in the past) which is evident in the fantastically weird drop that happens. I wouldn't recommend this song to people who are beginners to NCT 127 unless you want to jump into the weird end of things. I absolutely enjoy this though. Mark Lee is once again being his iconic self and Taeyong builds such great energy. These two work so well together.


Sit Down! took me by surprise because I was expecting another Taeyong and Mark rap track so when Jaehyun's vocals kicked in I was taken aback. Definitely not disappointed though. The vocals fit so well in the mix of rapping. This song is a big eff you to the haters so it's perfect for feeling like a badass. And the chorus is absolutely infectious. Catch me saying "don't tell me what to be!" to myself when this song gets stuck in my head.


Favorite Vocal Performance: Day Dream

I've stated many times that vocal-heavy tracks are not my favorites typically. But this song is so angelic. I literally can hear this playing as you enter the gates of heaven. It's got an interesting drum beat that I wasn't sure I liked but I can't do anything except absolutely love this track now. It's absolutely perfect. The guys bring out their choir side and the high notes delivered by some of the guys are absolutely perfect. I. love. this. song.


Other Recs: Elevator (127F), Kick It, Dreams Come True

Elevator (127F) opens the record with a nice infectious pop instrumental. That bass riff is felt in your bones in the beginning. The vocals are absolutely beautiful. The drop is lower-key but it's fun! It's a perfect intro and I love it.


I've said all I needed to say about Kick It. It's a bop. Just listen and enjoy it.


Dreams Come True turned me off when I first heard the song. They used this as a way of announcing the album back in January. The video was insanely cheesy and I thought the song was as well. Hearing it in the context of the record though, it's perfect. The more I listen to it the more I love it. It's a perfect conclusion to this perfect record.

Comments


bottom of page