top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: Reload - NCT Dream


NCT Dream is the teenaged sub-unit of NCT. When they debuted, none of the members were above the age of 16 and certainly had a very childish image during their debut. As they grew, so did their music. Now, most of the members have reached the age of 20 (which formerly would have meant they would be "graduating" from the group but SM undid that rule before this album was announced) and this record certainly proves that they have grown considerably.


The title track and opener for this record, Ridin', starts the record off hard. The chorus is intense and catchy. The raps and vocals compliment each other very well. In fact, it's probably some of my favorite vocal performances I've heard in a while. This leads in Quiet Down that opens with this sultry vocal line from member Haechan. From that moment I found myself hooked. This song is so smooth every guy just brings it to the table. The synth instrumental is also really dope. Then the record flows into the softer, 90s inspired tracks 7 Days and Love Again. Love Again certainly is my favorite of these two. It took time to grow on me, but I absolutely love it. The harmonies are wonderful and the instrumental is very reminiscent of a popular 90s hip hop track. The album then closes with Puzzle Piece which is a very sweet guitar ballad. It's a great closer to this record and while ballads aren't my favorite, they certainly deliver their best vocals.


NCT Dream has certainly grown up with their music and it's interesting to see that growth. Since this is their last album before they become a rotational unit (what that means I don't know), I think it's a very fitting record. They show themselves to be grown men and it's so good. I certainly am impressed with what they have done.


Favorite Song: Ridin'

This song is just a banger. I really don't know what else to say. It's certainly one of my favorite title tracks from this year. I would even go as far as to say it's one of my favorite songs from any NCT sub-unit. The vocals are heavenly and the raps are incredible. This song is them on top of their game and I'm in love with it.


Other Favorites: Quiet Down, Love Again


I've really said all I could about Quiet Down above, but I certainly can't over how sultry this song is. It took me by surprise. I was still ridin' (haha) the high from the first track and this song just put me out. They are absolutely stunning in this track. The instrumental is just something I can't over. It certainly adds to the overall feel for the track. Then to put these incredible (sexy) vocals on top of it... man it's a treat!


If you would've asked me a week ago what my favorite songs on this record are, I would've just said Ridin and Quiet Down. I really thought the record dropped off after that. But giving it more chances, Love Again started to stick out to me. It's one I will find myself listening to with the windows down and wind in my hair. It's a fun summery song and I'm really glad it grew on me.

Comments


bottom of page