top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: The First Step: Treasure Effect - Treasure


I love Treasure SO MUCH. They blew it out of the park last year for me; so much so that they topped my top debuts of last year. It's needless to say, I was very excited when they announced their first full length album at the end of last year. And in their fashion, they still have yet to let me down in terms of new music.


Treasure Effect spans ten tracks but only 3 of those songs are new to listeners of the band. That certainly doesn't mean it's bad as it really showcases their career so far and where they hope to go in 2021. Their previous title tracks, Going Crazy (their pre-debut song), Boy, I Love You, and MMM sit nicely in the middle and end of the tracklist which provides some nice grooves and dance along bops. Their previous b-sides, Come To Me, my personal favorite B-side BLT (Bling Like This), and Orange, give us some nice tracks to chill to which showcases their versatility.


As far as the new tracks are concerned, the title track and opener, My Treasure, is a funk and soul groove that really sets the tone for the record. It's a very cute song that brings a smile to my face. Be With Me and Slowmotion are the next of the new tracks and they're more lowkey tunes which fits. The former has a nice guitar groove that is perfect to come down after My Treasure. Slowmotion fits as more of a sweet ballad.


Treasure are certainly proving their place in the K-Pop world. With all of these songs except for one being written by members of the group, we're seeing their artistry begin to take shape. It's exciting to hear how far they've come and see their vision for their future. It's not a disappointing record at all. If you're new to this group then I suggest you take a listen to experience their awesomeness.


Watch the music video for My Treasure below and check out Treasure Effect on your preferred streaming service!



Comments


bottom of page