top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: The Nocturne - Nu'est


Nu'est's comeback was another anticipated one that I had seen around the Twittersphere. I had never really heard their stuff before but I had planned to make a review because of how hyped up it was. I kind of put on the back burner though until I got an ad on Youtube which was the entire music video for the title track, I'm in Trouble (this is a very common occurrence in the k-pop world). I loved it very much so naturally, I took that as my sign to listen to this EP and write this review.


This EP opened with a very sensual track, Moon Dance, that took me by surprise. The vocals were very sexy and the instrumental is very beautiful. It really set the tone for the entire record to come. Synths and angelic vocals certainly take the forefront. That continues for the next three songs; I'm in Trouble, Firework, and Back to Me. The power in their voice, especially in the latter two tracks, took me by surprise. Firework is also a summer tune that will be played in the car with my windows down. Must is the second to last track that offers a piano ballad. Normally, those tracks are not my favorite but this is a different case. I literally cannot dislike a track when it makes me feel like I'm entering the gates of heaven. Shooting Star then closes out the record with a fun, sing-along tune.


This record is not my favorite that has been released this year, but it certainly took me by surprise. There are songs on here that I will probably find myself listening to on repeat a lot. It's a great album for the summer nights laying in the grass. I liked it!


Favorite Track: I'm in Trouble


A funky bass groove with sensual vocals? Uh yes, please. This song has it all. It's the reason I listened to this record and it's a song I will have on repeat for a while. It's perfection!


Other Recs: Moon Dance, Must


The opener for this record really shocked me. It's a lower-key track that just has these absolutely incredible vocals and harmonies. The chorus is absolutely beautiful and sensual (of course). I just want to dance around to it. It's just a really great track.


Must surprised me the most because I'm not a ballad fan. But I really found myself immersed in this track. Each member really shows off their skills and it's absolutely beautiful. It's simple and it's effective. I literally adore this track a lot. If you're someone who likes these kinds of tracks I cannot recommend it enough!

Comments


bottom of page