top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Album Review: Zero: Fever, Pt. 1 - ATEEZ


Ateez are a group to be reckoned with. Even though they only debuted two years ago, they are a global phenomenon. They have captured the hearts of millions of fans worldwide, including me, with their down to earth personalities and self-produced music. Their music ranges from the softest ballads to the hardest bops and they rock all of it. It's why they are among my top 5 favorite K-Pop groups. When they announced this album, I was hyped because I knew what would come for me.


The promotion that led up this album was different than what I had seen. They had fans pick their title track. The two choices were Thanxx and Inception, two songs that are absolutely incredible. Inception ended up winning but it was definitely a win-win situation. Thanxx in a bop that features a great sing along chorus and fun guitar diddly. The raps are also incredibly sexy. Inception on the other hand is a little more low-key but man those vocals are so beautiful. I can't help but tear up a little. The melodies are just so incredible. As the song says, "I'm in love."


The b-sides to this album are also just as incredible. The stand-out track that I saw fans talking about the most seemed to be To The Beat which is highly understandable. This song is hot. It's got some whisper rapping and tasteful auto-tune that captured my heart. Not to mention that beat that could get anybody on the floor (black fans even created a twerk challenge yep it's that hot.) It was the one I was most excited for and I was not let down. There's also the closer, One Day at a Time, that is a sweet little ballad. It's a nice ending to this part of the story that makes me want to melt into a puddle.


Fever Pt 1, really showcases why Ateez have become such a stand out group in the k-pop industry. They really showcase their duality on this record. One minute they're as soft as you can get them (One Day at a Time, Fever, Inception), the other minute they're oozing sex appeal (Thanxx, To the Beat). I certainly am amazed at their talents and I'm already excited for Pt 2 of this series.


Favorite Track: To The Beat


It's no surprise that my favorite is the hard bop. But damn this song is just a jam. It sits nicely in the middle of the record so it gives a nice little change of pace before we're hit with the soft tracks. I can already see this chorus being yelled by millions of screaming fans (can this virus please be over). It's going to be a go to song for me when I want to get up dance. It's so addicting.


Other Recs: Thanxx, Inception, Fever


The title tracks for this record are both so incredible. In the end I'm glad Inception won because it truly showcases them at their best vocally and performance wise but Thanxx really deserves some props as well. I adore both of these tracks immensely. Then there's also Fever that makes me feel so soft. The chorus is sweet and the vocals are really beautiful. Ateez really know how to deliver on the slower tracks and I love them for that.


Check out the video for Inception below and check out Fever Pt 1 on your preferred streaming service (seriously do it).



Comments


bottom of page