top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Single Review: Top/Slump - Stray Kids


I haven't been a fan of Stray Kids for long but they have certainly become one of my favorite bands in that short amount of time. Mostly because they seem to drop content left and right that it's impossible to ignore them. So when Top and Slump were announced to serve as the opening and closing respectively for a new anime, Tower of God (which is based off a popular webtoon of the same name) I was excited. It's something none of my bands have done before as far as I know. So I was interested to see what they would do.


These two songs certainly sound like they belong in an anime (and I haven't watched a lot of anime). Top is explosive with a cool EDM drop that sounds like a textbook anime opening. As I listen I can't help but imagine the colorful anime characters with drop freeze frames that happen. But aside from that, the raps are incredible and powerful. The vocals are strong and the drop is really well produced. It really gets my adrenaline pumping for sure. The closing track, Slump, is more low-key which is perfect for closing track. It features a nice guitar melody with drums and vocals that blend well together. These two songs might be opposite of each other but they certainly fit well together.


Stray Kids are truly proving themselves to be a band that can do anything that is thrown at them. And while I'm not a fan of anime, I'm certainly a fan of these songs. Top is an explosive tune that I'll probably end up addicted to and Slump is a thing of beauty. These guys certainly have the skills for anything.


You can check out the songs on your preferred streaming service (here's a link to Apple Music or Spotify). They also have English and Japanese versions of the songs as well!

Comments


bottom of page