top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Song Discovery: To Be or Not to Be - ONEUS

Oneus are really popular in my twitter sphere. I hear about them a lot but I never really tried to listen to them (I knew one song by them, Lit). So when the music video for To Be or Not to Be came up on my suggestions on Youtube, I figured I would try them out. It had to be destiny.


To Be or Not to Be is a cluster of many music genres. The beginning is a soft vocal track that switches into some synthy pop that turns into explosive rock chorus. Then it turns to a heavy hip hop track that turns back to a synthy pop song and rock chorus. It's like you're being pulled in many directions and it can certainly feel overwhelming at first. I didn't know if I liked this song at first but the more I listened the more I loved it. I love K-pop groups who can seamlessly flow like that. It really shows how multi talented they are.


The next thing about this song that really got me was the concept. I'm a big fan of dark concepts (which is usually why I find myself stanning boy groups more) and this certainly doesn't disappoint. A video full of dark religious imagery, fake blood, Shakespeare references, and dark outfits, it really fits the tone of the song really well. And it's really good! This has to be my favorite concept ever. I've never seen a group play into a concept like this so well.


Oneus have certainly proved themselves to me and I've already found myself digging more into them. The concept is really refreshing to see and the song is so good! I couldn't tell you want genre it is but that's what makes it so good. This is certainly one of my faves from this year.


Check out the music video for To Be or Not to Be below and check out Oneus' new EP Lived on your preferred streaming service!


(Warning there is blood and gun violence so if that's not your thing I would refrain from watching)



Comments


bottom of page