top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Track Review: Boy - TREASURE



When I immersed myself into K-Pop culture and fandom, I learned very quickly who Treasure was. They have been slated to debut under YG for a while now and so there was so much hype for this debut. For those of you who don't know, YG has produced the likes of Bigbang (one of the most iconic boy groups), Blackpink (THE girl group), 2NE1 (one of the most iconic second gen girl groups), and was even the label for Psy at one point. So needless to say, that there was a lot of expectations for me and this debut.


The song on the surface is just the definition of a bop. It's got a fun beat that is great for grooving and fun lyrics. There's also a great drop which is something I expect nothing less from a YG group. It's a dance along tune for the ages. The lyrics are a little juvenile which can certainly be a little turn off for some but with all of the members (except one) being under the age of 21, this is a song for them! It's cute and it's fun and a little bit addicting. Plus the choreography is incredible for such a young group.


This long awaited debut certainly shows a lot of promise. It's not the best K-pop song to ever be release as it is a little juvenile, but it's still fun and enjoyable. I'm certainly a fan as I find myself listening to it quite frequently. I was certainly excited for a fresh boy group from YG because they have needed some young blood for a while. All in all, I'm certainly excited to see where these guys go!


Check out the music video for Boy below and listen to this track on your preferred streaming service!



Comments


bottom of page