top of page
Writer's pictureTiffany

Song Review: Cerberus - Pentagon (Yuto, Kino, and Wooseok)


As far as groups go, I fall more on the casual listener of Pentagon. Some of their songs are on a frequent rotation in my playlist but I don't stan them that much and therefore never keep up with them. So when I opened my youtube one day to see these three had released a song, I was intrigued. I walked away from this song a completely different person.


Cerberus is the hound of Hades in Greek mythology that has three heads that protects the underworld. These three members get together and become metaphorical the hound and become a triple threat. Cerberus showcases their skills as songwriters as they've all helped pen and compose the track. It also, most definitely, showcases their insane rap skills. As a casual Pentagon stan, I knew what these guys were capable of but not entirely. Seeing these guys shine on their own, was shocking and surprising.


This song is surprising for a lot of reasons. Their flows are all incredible. They all build off each other really well and have this insane charisma that could make anyone fall in love with this track. There's also the multi-language aspect in which Yuto, the Japanese member in this trio, raps in both Korean and Japanese so smoothly and effortlessly. There's also the noisy and bass-heavy beat that adds another level of fire to this already hot track. It's a total package for those who love upbeat, insane tracks.


Cerberus is Pentagon's maknae line letting loose and showing the world what they are capable of. I know I've walked away from this song seeing them and their group in a new light. It's wild, unhinged, and catchy; everything you could ever want. You need to check out this unappreciated hit.


Check out the video for Cerberus below and check it out on your preferred streaming service!

Comments


bottom of page